Mini Assessments for Robo en la Noche

Time is simply flying by this school year!  We have dealt with some pretty unusual circumstances….9 snow days during the reading of the novel, 16 days of PARCC testing (do not even ask me how I feel about this!), and I have missed some time due to surgeries that I had hoped could wait til summer (wasn’t possible).  Therefore, finishing the novel Robo en la Noche  by Kristy Placido. was a bit chaotic. I opted for 2 mini assessments at the end of the book, both of which were completed by students when I was not in school.  That makes the results, for me, even more amazing.

The first mini assessment was called Análisis de Carácter.  Students had to choose a character from the book and an adjective/noun/emotion that depicted how that character acted or felt: enojado, asustado, tonto, bruto, triste or feliz,. Their task was to find ten supporting sentences or phrases (dialogue or action)  that supported that character and adjective choice.  They had one 45 minute class period to do this.  Here are some examples:

13j 3 adj 1 adj 2 adj 4 adj 5

The second mini assessment that started in class on a Friday, and it was due when I returned on Tuesday.  There were four options for them, and they can be found in this document mini pbt choices revised. Here are some examples of the work that I received, from obviously artistic students as well as others for whom stick figures rock! photo 1 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 6 photo 7 photo 8 photo 10 photo 11 photo 12 photo 13 photo 149

I can not emphasize enough how fulfilling it is to use these novels.  The students enjoy them, they feel good about what they are able to do, they feel successful, and their growth is obvious.  Comprehensible input is definitely, for me, an excellent methodology.  I am going to order the sequel to Robo en la Noche, Noche de Oro, because so many of them want to know what happens to the characters….who DID say Pura Vida at the end of the novel, what happens to Dr. Parker and Ines, what does Makenna do….?.  Because I will have many of them in Spanish IV next year, their opportunity to read the novel as part of our curriculum is not available (we read La Llorona de Mazatlan, Vida y Muerte en la Mara Salvatrucha, and hopefully La Hija del Sastre in level 4)….but free reading choice is!!! Our thoughts for Level 3 next year include repeating Esperanza and Robo en la Noche as well as adding Blanca nieves y los siete toritos.

6 thoughts on “Mini Assessments for Robo en la Noche

  1. Diles a tus estudiantes “¡BUEN TRABAJO!”
    Me gusta su creatividad.
    Esta semana mis estudiantes en español 2 terminan Fiesta Fatal, y luego leemos Robo en la Noche. Voy a añadir algunas de tus actividades en mis planes. Gracias por compartirlas. 🙂

  2. I’m planning on using “Robo en la Noche” next year. Would you be willing to share with me which TPRS novels you use during which years? Thank you so much. (I saw you were going to use “Vida y Muerte” in Spanish IV, and I was going to use it in Spanish III.)

    • The great thing about the TPRS novels is that they can be adapted for use in many different levels….so, everyone is able to do things differently and deal with topics as it suits their needs. In Level III next year we are using Esperanza, Robo en la Noche and Blancanieves y los 7 toritos. In Level IV next year I will use La Llorona de Mazatlan, Vida y Muerte en la Mara Salvatrucha and either La Hija del sastre or La Guerra Sucia.

      • Hi!
        I’m wondering which book you enjoy teaching more Vida y Muerte, La Hija del Sastre or La Guerra Sucia? I am hoping to add another novel to my Spanish IV next trimester and can’t decided which book to use because I know they are all so amazing.
        Gracias 🙂

      • I’ve read them all, but I’ve only taught Vida y Muerte, so I don’t think I’m much help!! I’m considering using La Guerra Sucia next year, though!

Leave a Reply

