Music Through Social Awareness….2015

Later this week I will begin my social awareness music unit again, but much altered from years past.  I have to shorten the unit due to 2 weeks of snow days and the 16 days of PARCC testing.  Therefore, I am only focusing on Colombia and the music of Juanes. Each year I have always struggled with a biography for Juanes….they were all either too long, too advanced, or too something for my kids.  So, this year, I wrote my own, with comprehensible input, and I intend to begin the unit with it! Juan Esteban…. It’s created, but I don’t have the followup activities for it yet.

I’ve also written a story that I will use prior to the song Segovia. I wanted to preteach some of the vocabulary in the song and the actual historical event,  as well as reinforce vocabulary that we will have done in the first two songs in the unit ( A Dios le Pido and La Historia de Juan).  I took the actual events, an actual survivor, and the record of those killed in the attack and created a story.  I added details to flesh out the story, creating a homelife, a job, feelings and background information. I have not used it yet, so there may be errors/typos, etc. and I will develop other activities to go with it.  I welcome any suggestions or activities.  Cuento de Segovia rev     and a ppt to preface it and use with it. Segovia    Here is an activity with the song SEGOVIA

My Essential Questions are based on those that @Karacjacobs created (thanks, Kara!)

PREGUNTAS ESENCIALES
1. ¿Qué pasaba en Colombia entre 1960 – 2014?
2. ¿Ha cambiado la situación en Colombia? ¿Cómo? Explica.
3. ¿Cuál es el mensaje y/o el propósito de las canciones de Juanes?
4. ¿Cómo se manifiestan las realidades de Colombia durante los 80 y 90 especialmente en las canciones Segovia, Minas Piedras y Sueños y en la película “Los Colores de la Montaña“?
5. ¿La música y el cine pueden ser promovedores de la paz? ¿Cómo?

Additionally, I have some new resources to add to the part of this unit when we study the landmine situation in Colombia (and the world), working with the song Minas Piedras. There is a website in Spanish, Suelos de Paz,  with current updates and statistics for Colombia. There is a new video, Ya Olvidamos, published in February 2015 and a great video with subtitles:  Qué es y cómo se hace el Desminado Humanitario

.

If you are interested in following what we are doing, here is my wikipage that I use for daily lesson plans.

7 thoughts on “Music Through Social Awareness….2015

  1. I sincerely appreciate the thought and detail that you put into your blog posts! Your and Kara’s respective blogs have helped me to make lots of great improvements in my Spanish IV classes and the students love the additions. Thank you very much!

  2. Hola Sharon,
    I continue to be inspired by your work! With your permission, I would like to make a packet of your Juanes and Colombia resources from your wiki so they are all in one place when I use the songs and activities with my students in our next unit. I would put a footer on the front page that says, “All work, unless otherwise noted, is from Mrs. Sharon Birch of http://www.elmundodebirch.wordpress.com. Used with permission.” Is this alright with you? Please let me know.

  3. Hola Sharon,
    Your work and generosity are amazing. I would love to use the Social Awareness unit that you have created with my students. I have asked for permission to see your plans, but haven’t been given access yet. I’d be happy to pay for resources and have purchased what you have made available on TPT. Would you be able to give me access to your plans or to load more activities or a unit plan onto TPT?

Leave a Reply

