Las Metas y Los Sueños…..part 2

In the last post I included the activities for the first 4 days of the unit.  This post includes the plans for Days 5, 6 and 7 (my class periods are just 45 – 50 minutes long).

Day 5

Neil Jones has a great blog with wonderful resources and ideas for Spanish teachers.  In 2012 he posted an activity:  El sueño y el orgullo, that will fit nicely in this unit.  It has many of the vocabulary words that I am targeting, reflexive verbs and subjunctive.  It is a good cloze listening activity that I will expand into conversation and reading.

Day 6

I wish I remembered where I read the following idea, but I don’t…if you recognize the idea, please let me know and I will credit the source!  Five to seven students will volunteer (depending on class size, my largest has 26, the smallest 20) to stand in front of their peers.  I will give each of those students 2 pictures that the rest of the class will not see.  The class will receive a grid with potential jobs listed.  Their task is to ask questions to their classmates standing in front of them, trying to determine who has which job.  The students standing in front with the pictures may only answer yes/no.  Every student must ask a question, with the “winning student” being the first student to match his classmate with the job correctly. This may have to be adjusted!  Following this whole class speaking/listening activity, I will give a picture to each student in the class and have them respond to this prompt:

Eres la persona en la foto. ¿Cómo llegaste allí? ¿Cuáles eran tus sueños/metas? ¿Cuáles eran tus retos o desafíos? ¿Cómo lograste tus sueños? ¿Cómo conseguiste tus metas? ¿Siempre creías/pensabas que tenías éxito? ¿Tenías miedo o duda alguna vez? ¿Cómo puedes usar tu posición para el bueno, para cambiar algo en el mundo? ¿Cómo vas a alcanzar nuevas metas?

Here are the pictures and the student grid: Metas Tus Trabajos del Futuro

Day 7

The Axel song, Celebra tu vida, which has been playing several days as students enter the classroom, will be the focus of today.  Students will complete a cloze activity of the first part of the song, which we will then discuss (vocabulary) and will take a brief glance at the subjunctive being used.  I will then place the students in small groups, 3-4 students to a group, and I will assign each group one of the remaining verses.  Their task will be to illustrate their part of the song and share it with the class. Next, we will look at several tweets from Axel that use several of our targeted vocabulary words about goals, dreams, reaching the goal/dream, etc.  The last tweet that we will examine is about an unlikely duo that auditioned for the X-Factor in England, which will lead us to viewing that audition and responding, first with conversation and then in writing.  The resources for today are here: Metas Celebra tu vida Axel

Additional note:  I will be speaking individually with several students over the span of several days, working toward the first evaluation in which they are to describe their own dreams and goals to me.

Thoughts and comments, suggestions, etc. are always welcome!!!

4 thoughts on “Las Metas y Los Sueños…..part 2

  1. I love watching your unit unfold.As part of my: Hablar de su futuro unit, I have them read and compare and contrast Antonio Machado’s Caminante no hay camino with Frost’s Road less traveled. It’s nice because the same students are studying existentialism in Language Arts and there’s a lot of carryover. They even ask their English teachers about the subjunctive, and it turns out that our Language Arts staff are all closet grammarians, who enjoy showing the usage in English. I really am de-emphasizing grammar instruction other than as a means to an end, and my kids seem to be very able to manipulate the language regardless. Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas.

    • Thank you so much! I love your idea of comparing the two poems! I’m going to see if I can squeeze it into this unit (which is now looking like it’s going to take about 5 weeks to complete!) Thank you for the suggestion.

  2. Hi,

    I am a first year teacher at Susquenita Middle School in Duncannon, Pennsylvania. My school district uses the Realidades series.  I have been using the first level book through Carol Gaab but I would like to find other resources or ways to get my students to talk but like you mentioned in one of your first entries…I want my students to basically cover the same material as the curriculum but teach things using comprehensible input and TPRS. 

    For example, right now with Spanish 1 we are working on the verb Gustar and then moving forward to talk about adjectives.  I put together my own story about a boy liking two girls at the same time and asking them out but I am stuck because some of the vocabulary is above their level of comprehension so what can I do to make this work?

    Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it!

    Sincerely,

    Valeria Pannizzo

    • The best advice that I could give you, if you haven’t already done so, is to join Twitter, and especially to interact with the #langchat community. You will get all kinds of ideas! Also, are you using Pinterest? It’s my next “go-to” source. While I’m not teaching Spanish 1 or 2 right now, I do have a small section on my Pinterest. http://www.pinterest.com/sraslb/
      It’s great that you are trying to create your own stories, but perhaps they just need to be a big simpler? Keep working at it! You are on the right track!

Leave a Reply

