A versatile song for verb tenses

For a couple of years I have used the song Todo Cambió by Camila when working with the preterite and imperfect.  Each year, the song has been well received, but this year, the Spanish III students absolutely loved it.  Spanish IV students have also enjoyed Llorar by Jesse y Joy and Mario Domm (from Camila).  For many of them, they would list Jesse y Joy, Camila and Juanes as their favorite Spanish artists.  Unfortunately (or so I thought), both Mario Domm and Samo from Camila have left the group to pursue separate careers. About two months ago I ran across the song Inevitable by Samo (after listening to what was then his new release,Sin Ti). I thought it was interesting,made a note to use it, but forgot about it.  Thanks to the ever creative, resourceful Zachary Jones, I was reminded of the song again this past week when he used it as a Clozeline activity, and knew immediately that I had to use it with my Spanish III students as we continue to focus on present indicative and past tenses with authentic resources.  Little did I know how much my classes were going to like this song!!

Using the idea from Zachary Jones, I decided to focus on the present indicative verbs as well as the preterite verbs in the song Inevitable.  I always have music playing between the change of classes, as students are entering my room.  On Thursday, the song playing was Inevitable by Samo. Sometimes students merely glance at my SMARTboard to see the video when they enter, other times they really watch.  This was definitely the latter.  I started class focusing on vocabulary activities for our current unit, telling them that we would be working with the song later in the class.  I then passed out SAMO pres pret imp.  Working with a partner, I gave the students about 30 seconds to identify what was in the two boxes.  I then gave them about a minute to work through the verbs orally to identify them. Prior to listening to the song, we talked about the word, inevitable, in English, and I had them predict what they thought was going to happen in the song.  I then played the song (without letting them see the video) and had them complete the cloze.  The first time, I stopped after the first 7 lines to verify that they were clearly hearing the lyrics and that they just couldn’t write fast enough to complete it all.  I then started the song again, and almost all of them successfully finished the song.  We confirmed the verbs and then they worked their way through what they thought the lyrics were saying.  Next, we watched the video.  To say that they liked it is putting it very mildly. They asked to sing it in Spanish, which we did….twice….and the next day, too!

Because Spanish IV is working with the present subjunctive, I decided to use the song for them, also.  The focus for them was present indicative, preterite and present subjunctive.  I had them, with a partner, identify the three boxes as well as the meaning of the verbs (Samo pres pret subj).  I then had them look at the lyrics in the first seven lines and tentatively guess what verbs they thought would complete each line.  In all three classes, they chose almost all of the correct verbs prior to listening.  Next, they listened and completed the cloze.  I then had them focus on where the subjunctive was being used and, with their partner, they determined why it was being used.  Finally, I asked them to try to say the lyrics in ENGLISH as the Spanish was playing: Bedlam! They practically begged to sing it in Spanish. Many of the students asked if they could download the song on their phones immediately!  Of course I had to say yes!

The next day, Friday, I used the much slower Samo song, Tú fuiste quien.  This time, the focus was on past tense.  I did not expect the Spanish III classes to enjoy this song as much as Inevitable, and they didn’t.  However, they did like it.  We will work with it again on Monday……at their request!  

Leave a Reply

