“Are You a Teacher Or a Person Who Teaches?”

I didn’t intend to write another post today, but I just found this in a blog called EdTechSwami (from August 2010), and it really impacted me.  So, I’m sharing:

Are You a Teacher Or a Person Who Teaches?

The meat of the article:

“I am a teacher. A teacher sees the world in a particular way, and it is not only when he is in a school. I am a teacher all the time. This is different from a person who teaches. A person who teaches punches an inner clock, even if that clock counts time outside of the classroom, all the while thinking what will I get for this time rather than what will my students get. I realize now that I can never help those who only teach, and I will continue to be frustrated if I try. But I am going to do my best to find all of the teachers in my district. So which one are you? Are you a teacher or a person who teaches?”

4 thoughts on ““Are You a Teacher Or a Person Who Teaches?”

  1. So, I’d like to thank you for finding this article and posting about it. I joke with family and friends all of the time,
    “Hey, at least I get the summers off,” but you and I both know that there is never truly an “off” season in our profession. What you are doing through this blog is awesome- and whether others seek it out or simply stumble upon it, everyone who reads will certainly leave with new and rewarding information…or if nothing else, an appreciation for what teachers do. Thanks for always innovating and creating (haha…we can add this lovely little addition to your “Mary Poppins” bag). 🙂

  2. Thanks for reading my article. For as long as I’ve been blogging I think that was my most heartfelt post. I wrote it when I was angry, which is something that I do more often. Keep fighting the good fight!

    • I could feel the passion in your article, and it struck an immediate chord with me. I had never seen, in print, what I’ve felt for years, but have failed to articulate. Thank you so much for writing it.

Leave a Reply

